What is legally considered harassment in Texas?
The Texas Penal Code says you have committed harassment if you call, write or e-mail someone with the intention of scaring, embarrassing, annoying, or tormenting them. ... Harassment is a Class B misdemeanor
, punishable by not more than 180 days in a county jail and/or a fine of not more than $2,000.
How do I prove harassment in Texas?
To prove a harassment charge, the prosecutor must show that the defendant communicated or said something offensive or objectionable
. Prior to the Internet age, a harassment charge might have involved a conversation (either over the telephone or in person) between the defendant and another party.
What are grounds for harassment?
The civil harassment laws say “harassment” is:
- Unlawful violence, like assault or battery or stalking, or.
- A credible (real) threat of violence, and.
- The violence or threats seriously scare, annoy, or harass someone and there is no valid reason for it.
How do I press charges for harassment?
If you have been harassed, you can either go to the police station
and make a report in person, or you can call the non-emergency number for your local police department to report the harassment.
How do I file harassment charges for texting in Texas?
Call or text us at (512) 480-9020
to hire us on a harassment or stalking case in Travis County. If you are being prosecuted for stalking, you should expect your text messages to be subpoenaed from your phone company, taken out of context, and made to seem much worse than you intended.